Immortal Bird Postscript

Doron Weber on Immortal Bird Aftermath

Big Ride Update: Day 26

We reached New Ulm, Minnesota today. I have not posted anything for the past few days–Miller and De Smet, South Dakota and Tyler, Minnesota–because I had to depart unexpectedly for Seattle for three days to attend the funeral of my dearest friend in the world, David Brumer.

Readers of Immortal Bird will recall my best friend David who saw me through so many hard times and who shared so many good times with me. He appears in many scenes in the book, including when Damon and I party with him at the Sundance Film Festival. I met David in 10th grade at Forest Hills High School and he has been the single most important person in my life outside of my immediate family since then.

I last saw David three weeks ago when he picked me up at Seattle airport and drove me to Vantage for my first night at the Big Ride. We had our usual great time and laughed so hard I thought my sides would split. He was a hale 56 year old man in the fullness of life when he collapsed from a sudden heart attack while hiking with friends. He leaves a wife Iris and two boys, Nadav, 15, and Asaph, 12. I will not try and describe my shock and grief at losing this most precious and beloved friend or what a tragedy this is to his family. Six hundred people from the Seattle Jewish community, where he was an esteemed leader, activist and social worker, came to pay their respects.

20120714-214437.jpg

David Brumer, 1956-2012

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Big Ride Update: Day 26

  1. I’m so sorry for your enormous loss. I lost my best friend when we were both twenty-five, and all these years later, I still miss her every day. May your ride give your heart peace, your mind clarity, and your grief a physical outlet that unburdens your spirit.

Leave a Reply

Seth's Blog

Doron Weber on Immortal Bird Aftermath

Doron Weber on Immortal Bird Aftermath

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

