Immortal Bird Postscript

Doron Weber on Immortal Bird Aftermath

Four Optimistic Reader Letters

I have received many letters about Immortal Bird and wanted to share these four because they all have something positive or even humorous in them. Enjoy and have a nice weekend.

 

Letter 1

Hello! I work with cinema in São Paulo, I was sent your book about Damon by a publisher here to evaluate and I was touched by your honesty. I watched powerless as my grandma passed a few month ago and she was one of my pillars, so I can relate a bit with the sensation of lost you’ve felt. I’m sure he would be very happy with it and it was an honor to know him through your words! If you decide to visit Brazil don’t hesitate in write for tips!

Letter 2

I apologize for writing you at your work email address, but I had to thank you for your beautiful book. I stayed up half the night finishing it, and woke up a different and better person because of it. Thank you for sharing your Damon with the world.

(P.S.–I registered as an organ donor for the first time today.)

 

Letter 3

Mr. Weber,

 

I have just finished reading Immortal Bird, and while I have read many books that have touched me, I’ve never felt the desire to write the author until today.

Your touching story brought tears, and a feeling of familiarity .  You see, my own little bird was born on July, 11, 1988 just a month before your Damon was born.  XXX  was also a frail little thing who came into the world with her own set of troubles.  She was born 9 weeks early weighing only 2 lbs 6 oz. and we left the hospital six weeks later with a four pound little girl who fought like a lion to survive.  While XXX  was learning to walk, and Damon doing the same my father was on the transplant list.

Back in 1999, being on the transplant list was extremely uncommon.  In fact, my father was turning 50 soon and they didn’t want to give him a heart because he was considered ‘old’ and it might be a waste.  My mother begged, he had three children, two grandchildren and needed to live.  Our lives were ones waiting for the phone to ring or the pager to buzz.  After what seemed like an eternity, the pager buzzed and the heart was there.  My father had his transplant at xxx.  Our lives became ones of surgical masks, hospital infections and blunders and pills.  My father was among the lucky.  He was told he would have five more years and then would most likely die from the effects of steroids.  After nearly ten years of bypasses, pacemakers and limitations, my father finally soared.  He returned to his love of hunting and fishing and was able to see four of his grandchildren arrive before he would die (15 years post op) from liver failure as a result of the steroids.

It was a time of biopsies, Dr. appointments and needing to be close to xxx Hospital.  It was a hard time, but one that we would not have given up for anything.  I only wish you would have had that time with Damon.

Through your words, I was transported back to the signs and sounds of the hospital and remembered how we had to fight for the right to live.  A fight that your family can be proud that they fought the battle.

My own little warrior xxx( short for her age due to her low birth weight and issues surrounding that) thrives today and is a fighter to the end.  Your story made me appreciate the battles we have fought and where we are today.  Her brother is a thespian through and through and I have spent many hours at the community theater.  He has taken those experiences and is now studying in xxx to be a Director (a path perhaps Damon would have pursued?)

While you’re probably wondering what my story has to do with you, I guess I just wanted to say thank you for sharing Damon with the world as I feel a kinship with you and what you’ve been through.  Though I haven’t had to walk through the shadow of death with my children (something that I can’t even imagine the depth of the grief that would be felt) I was able to experience it somewhat through your story.

And while I’m saddened by your loss, I am thankful for the families who make the sacrifice to give up organs while they are going through their own private hell.  Without them I would not have had my father, he would not have seen my lioness, and you may not have had extra time with Damon.

Thank you for writing a story that honors Damon, transplant families and love that will fight to the end for what is best for their loved ones.  When I look at xxx with her blue eyes and small stature I’ll say a prayer of thanks that she is still with us, and one for Damon and his family.  I’ll also remember to thank the families who gave a heart to my dad and to Damon.  Without their sacrifice we would not be the same.

Thank you!

 

Letter 4

Hi, I just read and review your book, Immortal Bird, on Amazon.

It was a fantastic tribute to your remarkable son, and a realistic portrayal of our medical professionals.

I just saw a picture of your Damon – on the Damon Weber prize website, and he looks fantastic in that picture!  I hope your book has a picture of him in it, so people can see his smiling mug!

 

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Four Optimistic Reader Letters

  1. With tears in my eyes after finishing Immortal Bird, I opened the next book on my stack and read this on the Forward page, “To the living, one owes consideration; to the dead, only the truth.” Voltaire
    Thank you for sharing Damon with us. My granddaughter is 3 1/2, has Down Syndrome and a corrected AV Canal and Tetrology of Fallot. I am shocked and saddened by your story, Blessings to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

Seth's Blog

Doron Weber on Immortal Bird Aftermath

Doron Weber on Immortal Bird Aftermath

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

