Immortal Bird Postscript

Doron Weber on Immortal Bird Aftermath

New Heart Pump for Single Ventricle Disease?

Today I received this letter from a Dr. Mark Rodefeld, Associate Professor of Surgery at Indiana University School of Medicine. He says he has exciting new  ideas for dealing with single ventricle disease, such as my son had. Although my foundation does not fund this kind of work (his question number 1), I thought I should help to increase  awareness of his work (his question number 2)  just in case it may lead to impovements in the lives of children and adults with this disease:

Dear Mr. Weber,

I recently became aware of your book, although I have not yet read it. I am a congenital heart surgeon, and so I am intimately familiar with the experience you have been through.

I spend a great deal of my time dedicated to research to address the problems of single ventricle heart disease. Thus, I am contacting you for several reasons:

 

1)      Alfred P Sloan Foundation may have some interest in considering support of my work.

2)      You may have interest in increasing awareness of my work as a way to improve the lives of children and adult afflicted with this condition.

My research is challenging on many levels. It is ‘unconventional’, ‘paradigm-shifting’, and ‘transformative’, i.e. high risk, high impact. It involves the development of a blood pump to place a right ventricular power source back into a circulation that lacks one (Fontan).

If accomplished, it would restore normal 2-ventricle physiology to people who have only one functional ventricle. This is a Holy Grail in structural heart disease, and this technology would impact medical care tremendously.

 

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Seth's Blog

Doron Weber on Immortal Bird Aftermath

Doron Weber on Immortal Bird Aftermath

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

