Immortal Bird Postscript

Doron Weber on Immortal Bird Aftermath

Damon and Immortal Bird Anniversary Update

–Last week on March 30th was the eighth anniverary of Damon’s death. As readers of Immortal Bird know, he is buried at Woodlawn Cemetery in the Bronx, in the Day family plot. Damon was related on his mother’s side to Clarence Day of Life With Father fame and he is buried alongside Katherine “Peggy” Day, Clarence’s wife, who he knew well because she lived into her nineties and we spent summers with her in Truro as well as some Thanksgivings in New York.
–Those who have experienced similar loss know that even eight years is a trifle.
–On April 1, I did a reading from Immortal Bird at Claremont-McKenna College and introduced Damon and his story to more people, largely students and professors. For me, each reading is like a sacrament in which I spread his sparkling spirit like glittery ashes or pixie dust that is scattered a little further across the earth.
–On April 5, Damon’s brother Sam, nearly five years Damon’s junior, celebrated his 20th birthday. Damon was 16 and 3/4 when he died.
–The paperback of Immortal Bird came out two months ago and the book continues to have a life of its own.
–As previously noted, in February it was the lead story in a medical publication, Congenital Cardiology Today, where it was used as a study guide and basis for discussion groups by 36 doctors, nurses, fellows and surgeons in one hospital and where the medical director recommended that all pediatric cardiologists and cardiac surgeons in the country read the book because it could lead to improvements in patient care and communication.
–And in March, The New York Times Sunday Book Review selected the book for its Paperback Row column and wrote a cogent one-sentence summary: “With urgency and tenderness, Weber chronicles the efforts to save his eldest child, who was born with a congential heart defect, and their struggles against the received wisdom and arrogance of the American medical establishment.”
–Speaking of arogance, our lawsuit against New York Presbyterian/Columbia University Medical Center for Damon’s wrongful death remains unsettled.
–But readers continue to respond and send me beautiful letters and comments. Today I received this lovely tribute:
“Ohhh, my heart is raw and my spirit both crushed and uplifted upon having met Damon. Thank you for two wonderful gifts: having produced and nurtured him and letting the rest of us get a glimpse of him.
Please know that you brought him to life for those who don’t know him. I feel enriched for it.”
–Thank you to those who have kept Damon’s spirit alive by opening their hearts to his story.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Damon and Immortal Bird Anniversary Update

  1. I just finished “Immortal Bird.” I decided to take it out to the playground while my daughter played and finish the last pages. Normally, there are any number of children crying on the playground due to bumps and bruises, or others not sharing, or what have you. It was odd for my daughter to see her mother sitting on the bench, tears streaming down my face. She asked me what was wrong, and all I could muster was “nothing.” I didn’t want to have to articulate all I was feeling. I am a Heart Mom. My beautiful, strong, intelligent baby girl is a Heart Warrior. I hope that she grows to share some of Damon’s other qualities; she already has the strength. Mostly, I hope that you are able to get some justice for Damon. Had I read his story before my baby had her OHS, I would have been out of my mind. I am one of many people who never met Damon, but are forever touched by him, and will never forget him. Thank you for sharing him with us. Bless you all.

  2. Thanks for the great info and the sharing of your insights

  3. George Mathes on said:

    Dear Sir,
    I am 81 years old, am a Yale graduate-1955- an army veteran, am happily married tommy 55 of 55 years and we have 3 grown children. I am addicted to DEADWOOD. I also read Immortal Bird and will never be the same. I have published 7 books of spiritual poems and have difficulty eliminating Damon’s tragedy from my life and mind. I just cannot believe such bungling! It makes me crazy. I am comforted somewhat by two quotes;
    “God tempers the wind to the shorn lamb.”
    and
    And if an endless sleep He will……. so best.”
    I’ll meet Damon in Heaven one day and I will shake his hand.
    Loves ones die…. ONLY… when they are forgotten.
    May the Lord comfort you forever, until you meet your son again
    in the lush and peaceful leas of Heaven.
    george

  4. Amy Richard on said:

    I just finished reading your book and am speechless. I am so, so sorry for your unnecessary loss. My heart goes out to you, your wife and children. I wish you the very best in your lawsuit. The bad thing is these things drag through the courts for years and meanwhile these heartless ‘professionals’ continue practicing medicine on others. How very, very sad. The medical world needs someone to shake things up, you and Damon can do just that. Keep fighting!

Leave a Reply

Doron Weber on Immortal Bird Aftermath

Doron Weber on Immortal Bird Aftermath

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,637 other followers

